Creating Policies for SharePoint Online

The SharePoint Online policy page shows a table with the following information and actions:

  • Policy Name

  • Maximum number of Versions Allowed

  • Sites Mapped to Policy

  • Actions

Creating Policy

Clicking the Create Policy button in the upper-right corner will bring you to a new page to configure a new policy.

Each policy needs a Policy Name and Description to create. Once you have these policy details, click Save.

Each tab has a set of parameters that can be edited. The tables under the headings below list all the parameters that are available.

General

Backup Information

Name

Description

Schedules

Select one or more schedules from the dropdown list. You can also select Create New Schedule to add a new schedule to the list. If schedules are added to the list, a Schedule Details summary will appear on the right, showing an overview of the schedules selected and providing an action button to edit them.

Schedule Details

Displays the selected schedule and configured backup time. Click Edit to modify the schedule.

Maximum number of Versions Allowed

Toggle this parameter on or off.

  • OFF - Versions are unlimited

  • ON - Enter a numeric value for the number of versions you want to allow for this policy. All modifications are merged into a single version that is captured in a backup job.

Backup all versions created since the last backup but not exceeding

Toggle this parameter on or off.

  • OFF - Every version will be backed up.

  • ON - Enter a numeric value for the maximum number of versions you wish to back up with this policy. Each modification is a single backup job.

Maximum Permissible File Size (In MB)

Toggle this parameter on or off.

  • OFF - File size is unlimited

  • ON - Enter a numeric value for the maximum file size (in MB) you want to allow for this policy

Per Site Backup Storage Limit (In GB)

Toggle this parameter on or off.

  • OFF - Site Backup Storage is unlimited

  • ON - Enter a numeric value for the maximum asset site size (in GB) you want to allow for this policy.

Purge deleted files from the catalog after

Specifies the number of days deleted files are retained in the backup catalog before being purged. UNLIMITED indicates that no time-based purge limit is configured.

Retain items until after

Specifies how long backed-up items are retained. UNLIMITED indicates that no defined retention period is configured.

Default Folders to Backup

If desired, add default folders to be included in the backup.

A Default Folders summary appears on the right, along with an X button to quickly remove folders. If desired, add default folders to be included in the backup. A Default Folders summary appears on the right, along with an X button to quickly remove folders.

For multi-tenancy policies, if you add a default path after the initial backup, the system backs up the newly added path during the next full backup only. It does not include the path in subsequent incremental backups.

Filter type

Determines how the selected filter is applied. For example, Inclusion identifies items that should be included in the backup.

Filters

Specifies the filter applied to the backup policy. Click Create New Filter to define a new filter or select an existing filter.

Note: Options that have an enable/disable toggle are applied only when the corresponding toggle is enabled.